Revision

Posted: August 18, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

A commentor in a post below challenged what he felt was a “revision of history” concerning the nonviolence of the early church in the pre-Constantinian period. In case he or anyone else is interested, Thom Stark posted a fantastic series a while back surveying the early church and their teachings on violence.

Check it out.

Update: Thom stopped by in the comments and offered two more helpful links:

1) The index of all the posts in his early Christian nonviolence series: http://thomstark.jesuspolitics.net/?p=282

2) A great additional resource – Thom’s series on the “proof-texts” often used by Christian violentists: http://thomstark.jesuspolitics.net/?p=427

Comments
  1. Thom Stark says:

    Derrick,

    Thanks for the link. I hope your interlocutor finds the early Christian testimony helpful.

    I noticed the link above is a link to the conclusion of the series, which led me to notice that I hadn’t published an Index, with links to the entire series.

    Here is a link to the index of the Early Christian Nonviolence series.

    Also, I’ve done another (shorter) series on New Testament proof-texts against Christian nonviolence, called “Resisting Nonresistance,” and I deal with the argument from the Centurion there, in addition to several others. Your interlocutor might be interested in that series as well. If so, it can be found here.

    Love your blog! Keep up the GREAT work.

  2. dcrowe says:

    Thanks Thom! I’ve moved your links up into the main article. Did I mention to you that I’m writing a book on Christian nonviolence? It’s done and I’m hawking it to publishers now. Wish me luck!

  3. Thom Stark says:

    You did NOT mention that. I look forward to reading it when it’s published!

Leave a Reply

